The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Drying Seeds

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: drying peppers| Next thread: drying seeds...Save JFE »
Back to Thread index
by SpringFever on July 21, 2006 08:25 AM
This is my first year at this and I am wondering the best way of making sure they will be good for next year!!

I have delphinium SP sorry..

Bell flowers.. White and Blue..ECT.. just want the usual time frame in which to lay them out!

Thanks Rita!

-
 -
Tonight I am having friends for dinner... Hanibal Lector My Album
by tkhooper on July 21, 2006 10:52 AM
unless it is something like a peppers seed that is moist and really doesn't have much of a coat I usually don't dry them because they aren't moist to begin with. By the time the delphium seed pods are ripe they are already dry and so are the seeds inside. Same for most of the seeds I've harvested. Except tomato, pepper, pumpkin and melon.

Tomato there is some special stuff you can do to them and Weezie explained it last fall in a post. I don't remember the name of it though but I'm sure if you search for it you might find it. for the rest I just make sure all the flesh is washed off of them and then I put them on a paper towel to dry. That usually occurs within one day. Then I package them up.

-
 -
by Triss on July 21, 2006 10:55 AM
For mine, even though most like Tammy said are already dry, I just place them in an open container and give them a shake every day or so and then will cap it off about a week later. This just assures me that my seeds will no mold. I use empty baby food jars and empty medicine bottles to store my seeds.

-
 -
We are all under the same stars... therefore we are never far apart.
by SpringFever on July 22, 2006 01:32 AM
Thanks ...One more question.. My gerbera daisey went to seed .. Is the Fluff suppose to stay on the seeds? How do you do them?

-
 -