The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Flowering bushes in the hot Florida sun

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Flowering Bush for shady area| Next thread: flowering cabbage/kale »
Back to Thread index
by Olvoyl on May 09, 2006 06:16 AM
Help!!! My home and business is on the same piece of property in Jacksonville, Florida, a zone 8. The building for my business is a large, green metal building and is visible with 2 airconditioning units. After the first 2 feet from the building the area recieves strong late morning and afternoon sun until 5 - 7pm depending on the time of year. I wanted to plant hydrangea but the sun is too much. Does someone have a suggestion as to what I could plant for with a similar impact? I'm a newbie and rather ignorant.
by RugbyHukr on May 09, 2006 07:57 AM
lantana are nice & flower all year

euryops also bloom thru the year

alyogyne 'blue hibiscus' blooms on & off all year

of course roses bloom profusely

bougainvillea love heat need little water & flower where the sun hits it

-
I love the sweet scents wafting in the breeze. I stop to admire the vibrant colors of all living things. And people think me odd. Then ODD I am!!!

http://community.webshots.com/user/flugnash
by Olvoyl on May 09, 2006 10:49 AM
Ok, I live in the south and didn't even THINK of bougainvillea!! Perfect choice. Thank you so much, I'm just ignorant still, only been trying my hand at gardening for two seasons now and last year didn't go super well. Any special tips on planting? I'm trying to hide my inexperience & I've got a big back yard party in a month and a half and I'm trying to make it look like I know what I'm doing. Any thoughts on the matter would be welcome.
by Sir Ts Princess on May 15, 2006 08:31 AM