The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Please Help| Next thread: Please Help!!! »
Back to Thread index
by cherbear on July 11, 2004 06:11 AM
I am very new to gardening and my husband has bought me 4 Oriental Lillies, 2 Dwarf Phlox and a Hibiscus. I have NO IDEA how to care for any of them. Am I supposed to deadhead the lillies? Do they keep blooming or just a one time bloomer? I know nothing about any of these flowers and I don't want to kill them. He made a new flower bed because we didn't have enough room in the one we had. He's done a lot of work for me and I have no idea what to do. Any help anyone can give would be GREATLY appreciated!
Happy growing!
[wayey]
by weezie13 on July 11, 2004 08:12 AM
Cherbear,
That husband of yours sounds like a keeper!!! [thumb]
Wow, you lucky girl!!!

The Oriental Lilies bloom once.
I do cut off the tops of mine when there are done.
Just so the plant can put it's energy back into the bulb for food next year.
Other's may have other helpful hints and may be along shortly...

The phlox may rebloom for you, just not a big as the first bloom as the first one......

And do you know what kind of Hibiscus you have by any chance??????

Weezie

P.S. Welcome to The Garden Helper's Forum by the way! We are a very nice of gardeners here.

And don't hesitate to keep asking questions, we love to help new gardener's learn gardening!

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by njoynit on July 11, 2004 08:16 AM
your oriental lillys are a once bloomer can pull the dead flowers off but leave your foliage it will store nutrients to bloom next year.