The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Rose of Sharon questions

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Rose of Sharon Question| Next thread: Rose of Sharon Seeds »
Back to Thread index
by matoaka on May 10, 2006 01:42 PM
I'm a newbie, and I have a question about a Rose of Sharon bush that is foundering in my "new-to-me" back yard.

I'm in arid, high desert country (7a). This is the only shrub in the back yard. It's only getting about 2 hours of direct sun due to encroaching shade trees. It's about 5' tall, with lots of dead wood. It has leafed out partially, and is starting to bloom. I don't know it's age, but it has 5 main trunks that are about 1 1/4" in diameter. Though it's well mulched, it doesn't look like anyone has paid any attention to it for a very long time.

Here are my questions... Should I (can I?) transplant this bush in a sunnier location? If so, when's the best time? And, last, do I prune after blooms fade, or early next spring?

Thank you.

Matoaka
High 'n dry in 7(a)
by RugbyHukr on May 11, 2006 03:18 AM
most R-o-S in the southwest are really alyogyne or another in malvacaea, if you post a pic we can tell for sure

-
I love the sweet scents wafting in the breeze. I stop to admire the vibrant colors of all living things. And people think me odd. Then ODD I am!!!

http://community.webshots.com/user/flugnash
by mountaingirl1 on May 11, 2006 03:55 AM
May I hook on this posting....tried on another, no responses. How do I prune it to my rose of sharon to prevent it from looking top heavy. It is a White Chiffon. What do you suggest to plant beneath it (no pink colored plants)?
by matoaka on May 11, 2006 02:48 PM
Hook away, mountaingirl! I'm interested in your pruning question, also.

Thanks RugbyHukr. I'll research the photo-posting info and get one up here for you to look at.

Matoaka
High 'n dry in 7(a)