The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Dogwood Trees

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Dogwood Problem| Next thread: dogwood trees »
Back to Thread index
by LilacLover on February 26, 2006 08:24 AM
I just bought some Dogwood Trees. I live in NC in a low line area. Will they get drowned really bad in a lot of standing water? I love them so much. also is it too early to plant them? And do they require fertilyzer now or wait until Spring? They are doormat. Im new to this plant thing and so Im still learning.

Mark
by peppereater on February 26, 2006 08:32 AM
Make sure they get some drainage. Plant on a slope or build a mound. Plant them as soon as possible, and do not fertilize at all the first year. They will not tolerate clay well, either. Please check back, others here may have some more information, and you should also give us any other details you have...the more we know, the more we can help!

-
Dave
Even my growlights are getting restless!
by LilacLover on February 26, 2006 09:13 AM
Don't fertilize this year? I thought all plants need it when you first set them out in the Spring? These trees were 3 gallon trees young trees from Walmart.
Do I need to just water them this year then? And not fertilize them?

Mark
by peppereater on February 26, 2006 09:45 AM