The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Growing Comfrey

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Growing Chillis| Next thread: growing datura from seed »
Back to Thread index
by alankhart on May 18, 2006 09:38 AM
I just got a comfrey plant. I've never tried growing it before, and what little info I can find isn't very helpful....one sight says full sun another says partial shade. So...which is it? And how hardy is it? I'm in zone 6b/7a, and I'm probably going to grow it in a large pot.

-
 -
 -
by ChristinaC on May 18, 2006 09:41 AM
Comfry should be here shortly...it's her fave..(obviously)...wait to hear from her..she'll tell u all u need to know. [thumb]

-
 -
by Deborah L. on May 18, 2006 10:35 AM
I used to have comfrey, but am concerned about all the warnings from the FDA about it.
Stern warnings about the dangers of eating it, and about using it topically.
There's alot of info about the dangers of comfrey on the web.
I was going to get some again, and use it only on cuts and scrapes, but now they are saying that it can get into a person systemically. Argh !

-
 -
by Deborah L. on May 18, 2006 10:37 AM
BTW, where did you buy the comfrey? We can't get it here anymore, no one will carry it.
I read also that soon there will be penalties to nurseries who continue to sell it.
BUT CIGARETTES ARE OK TO BUY???????????????

-
 -
by alankhart on May 19, 2006 10:03 AM
I got it at a local nursery. I've seen it at other nurseries here in Knoxville as well. I used to be the RFC for General Nutrition Center and we weren't aloud to sell it as a suppliment either.

-
 -
 -
by Deborah L. on May 19, 2006 10:34 AM
What are you going to use it for? Just curious.
I used to snip the young leaves on beans.
And wrapped a leaf around a cut and bandaged it.
Comfrey is high in allantoin.
Maybe aloe vera will be next.... sigh..... [Roll Eyes]

-
 -