The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

harvesting?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Harvested the coriander/cilantro| Next thread: Harvesting Bananas »
Back to Thread index
by cali1 on February 08, 2006 12:24 AM
Hi,
This is going to sound like a stupid question, but I am really new at gardening - I just bought a bunch of my favorite herbs to create an indoor, kitchen windowsill herb garden, and I live in south Florida. So what I'm wondering about is how to "harvest." Do I use scissors, or my fingers, and where do I cut, or pinch (and is there any trick to it? I am worried about hurting the plants. I don't have a very good track record with keeping anything green alive!
And can I start to harvest now? I'm psyched to start using the rosemary, oregano, peppermint and basil in food and teas, but is it OK to use the leaves already (I just bought the herbs a few days ago). And how much can I use? Because it looks like some of my recipes would entail taking a lot of leaves off these small plants. Thanks so much for any help!
by weezie13 on February 08, 2006 12:33 AM
Cali,
Welcome to The Garden Helper's Forum,
We're very glad you found us..... [thumb]

Just wanted to let you know I was going to move
your post into the HERB SECTION, I know we have several gardeners' here that love herbs and will be able to help you out alot better in to there..

*and don't forget to take a peak around, ther'es lot's to do here, and so much to keep you busy, no matter what season of the year it is... [flower]

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by weezie13 on February 08, 2006 12:39 AM
quote:
I am worried about hurting the plants.
One thing I can tell you about herbs is,