The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

total newbie

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Tortilla Soup!| Next thread: Tough decision this morning...... »
Back to Thread index
by jasminchantal on March 07, 2006 03:14 AM
Hello everyone!
I am very sorry if this is not the right topic (maybe I need to go to the "newbie" section) but I would love to get some help on the preliminaries regarding starting a garden.

I am 19, going to get married soon - and starting my life. And I want to start a garden in the front of the house.

Now, this garden "area" which is the designated area is COMPLETELY overtaken by weeds and wildflowers. It is NOT attractive. The situation honestly looks very daunting.

I am wondering if it possible to just get a total herbicide and just kill EVERYTHING off. And then let it recover over time. Once the plants have died.. can I wash out the rest of the poison for a few weeks. Then go on to add composte, and try to create the normalized pH again and everything? Oh is it a complete no-no to do this? I think of it as a total garden-cleanse. [gabby]

Hopefully I am wording the question properly.
This question is probably so "ignorant" it probably hurts! But I had to ask.

**oh I forgot to mention... I have tried "weeding" the area before. It's a complete disaster!!!
by Dixie Angel on March 07, 2006 04:23 AM
Congratulations, Jasminchantal, on your upcoming marriage and welcome to The Garden Helper...

As for your problem with weeds and such, could you weed-eat everything down? If so, I would try doing that then covering your garden area with plastic to bake the weed seeds that are left. After a few weeks, you could remove the plastic, build up your soil, and then plant what YOU want there.

I am sure someone else will be along shortly to help with your questions...

Dianna

-
 -
by Longy on March 07, 2006 05:07 AM