The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

White fly

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by Yann on January 29, 2006 06:40 AM
I am a novice but have been asked by a small church to help. 1 large hibiscus and 1 large Jasmine are infested (no exaggeration) with white fly.

I pruned them severely to limit the number of leaves and sprayed the under side of the leaves with a hard water spray -soap could not be put in this indoor sprayer. I then covered them with oversize clear garbage bags as they are in a foyer and subject to drafts. This is in Toronto and the middle of winter. Later they will be moved to a more protected place.

I plan to spray again in a few weeks but have heard that putting moth balls on the plants, which are in the bags. will kill the adults and new borns.

Have also heard that putting vapona strips inside the bags is effective.

Does anyone have experience with these possible solutions who can comment on there use.

Thanks
by weezie13 on February 10, 2006 04:40 AM
Hello Jann,
Welcome to The Garden Helpers' Forum..
We are very glad you found us....

I just wanted to let you know I was going to
move your post into the PLANT PEST SECTION...
I think you'll get a few more responses to your question in there better...

And don't forget to take a peak around...
There's lot's to do here, thru every season,
especially thru those long cold winters..

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by papito on February 10, 2006 07:08 AM
Info on whiteflies treatments from North Dakota State University and University of California.

http://www.ext.nodak.edu/extpubs/plantsci/landscap/pp744w.htm

quote: