The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

strawberry runners

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by allbforgiven on July 05, 2006 11:20 AM
[LIST] I have never grown strawberries, so I built a raised bed, 3'x26'x10" deep, well mulched, great draining, sun all day and watered as needed. Planted 25 June bearers, 25 ever bearers and they took off great. Produced some berries (taste was perfect) for two weeks, stopped and have been running crazy with runners. They are everywhere !!! No blooms, NO berries, what did I do wrong and what to do now?
I am suppose to be great at producing fruit, I'm a preacher.

GW
by Firstyeargardener2006 on July 05, 2006 11:25 AM
This is my first year growing. I am not really sure about strawberries since how mine have not grown this year.

But someone here on the forum told me to cut the runners. They also said you can make another plant with the runners. Someone with more experince will be along any minute to help you with it.
Sorry if I was not of any help.

http://s80.photobucket.com/albums/j184/ladyk24/

I sit in my vegetable garden so that I can see them grow.
by Deborah L. on July 05, 2006 11:58 AM
Good one, Pastor ! [Big Grin]

-
 -
by Amigatec on July 05, 2006 01:02 PM
If they were planted this year they may not do much.

I planted my first bed last year and it didn't produce hardly anything. But this year it did REAL good.

I started with 10 June bearers and by the end of May it was all over.

-
 -
One OS to rule them, one OS to find them:
One OS to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the Land of Redmond where the shadows lie.
by obywan59 on July 05, 2006 05:49 PM
Your plants are still establishing themselves. The June bearers won't bloom again until next spring, but you probably will get more blooms on your everbearers later in the summer.