The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Pachysandra help

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
Pages: 3 2 1
by klabold on May 19, 2004 03:56 AM
I am a complete novice when it comes to planting anything but I want to plant some pachysandra along a hill near my house so I am here for some advice.

I have pachysandra growing currently all over my beds. If I want to take some of this thick pachysandra and plant it in a newly cleared out hill, how would I go about doing this?

Or, is it best to just buy new pachysandra and plant on the hill.

If I plant the pachysandra at the top of the hill about 1 foot apart, will it spread down and out so it covers? How long does this take?

Any information is welcome!
Thanks for reading.

Kim [dunno]
by obywan59 on May 19, 2004 07:46 AM
You could dig out clumps of pachysandra with a shovel and plant them as is or you could divide them and plant individual shoots. The clumps would probably fill in the fastest.

I would guess maybe several years before they would fill in, depending on which method and how much watering and fertlization.

-
Terry

May the force be with you
by sibyl on May 19, 2004 08:03 AM
kim i dont know much about pachysandra, the only thing i could find is {pachysandra terminalis} is good for shady slopes. [Embarrassed] sorry couldnt help with your plant. is your hill very steep? when planting on a hill build temporary terraces before you plant.long flat boards anchored behind 2 foot spikes driven partly into the ground. this will hold the soil in place so your plants can take a better root in the ground, and dont end up being washed down the hill.you can take the terraces out in a year or two, when your plants are well rooted. hope this helps ya some [Wink] sibyl

-
 -
by sibyl on May 21, 2004 08:32 AM