The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Just wondering.............about strawberry runners

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Just wonderin| Next thread: justing saying clay soil »
Back to Thread index
by Firstyeargardener2006 on June 11, 2006 09:46 AM
I have 2 strawberry plants I was just wondering about them since how I am still new at gardening
I have never seen them grow before so I don't know who they are suppose to look or be at this stage one is not doing anything expect getting eaten up by some thing and that ones in a pot strange.

Anyways the other one has 3 runners and they are sprouting more leaves is that normal? And also they keep going how long do runners go? I am only asking because I have been looking them up and they seem to be bushy the plant and then runners. Mine must be doing it's own thing it won't give out strawberries this year I am sure of that since how it hasn't even started to bloom like all the other veggies in my garden.

I was just wondering thats all since how I can not find anything about how long the runners are suppose to get and the leaves thing. I will keep searching maybe I will come across something that will explain it.
Thank you,
Nicky

http://s80.photobucket.com/albums/j184/ladyk24/

I sit in my vegetable garden so that I can see them grow.
by 'Sparagus on June 11, 2006 12:41 PM
Hmmm...I dont have much experience because every year Ive planted strawberries, the bunnies ate them!! [Mad]

Im guessing the runners will get as long as it takes them to reach some dirt! Maybe set another small pot of soil under it and see if it takes root. And if it does and starts flourishing, then clip the runner and you have a new separate plant! [thinker]

[flower]
by DeepCreekLake on June 11, 2006 01:47 PM
Your best bet is too clip off those runners, to let its growing energy go into those strawberry plants!