The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

new member needs radish help

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by joegardener on April 30, 2006 06:31 AM
My radish leafs look great but no radish.all I have is a root this is happening with the white and red ones whats up, any help would be apreciated.
by peppereater on April 30, 2006 07:16 AM
They should have radishes by about 30 days from germinating. How old are they?

-
Dave
Even my growlights are getting restless!
by mater sandwich on April 30, 2006 07:41 AM
I am not an expert with radishes but here is what I have. I planted 3 types 1 month ago today, German Giant, German Beer, and Easter Egg. All of the leaves are large and healthy looking. The German Giant and Easter Egg started enlarging their roots about a week ago while the German Beer hasn't. (The German Beer does not grow the standard bulb shape just a thickened root). Yesterday I harvested my largest Easter Egg radish which was about half typical size, I couldn't wait!

For the last month the weather here in the Carolina's has been great for gardening. How has your weather been?

How long have they been growing and what types do you have?

Do they have enough space between plants for the bulbs to grow?

Lastly, my plants are only getting about 7 hours of sun and I expect them to take longer not being in full sun.

Some days there is more laughter than others....Just depends on what/who you focus on....
by peppereater on April 30, 2006 07:57 AM
I'm jealous, Mator.
Weather here's been lousy for cool season stuff.
I'd love to have some radishes, especially the giant types. Amazing how sweet they are home grown. I've always wanted to grow some of the ones that get apple sized!