The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Advice for a complete newbie? :)

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by Marina on April 21, 2006 01:50 AM
Hello there, I have been readng this board for a few days and every here seems so helpful. I have just started my very first adventure into our first yard and this seems like a great resource.

My main problem is that I cannot find anywhere that shows me what my plants are supposed to look like as they mature....so I dont know if mine are OK or not.

Right now only my peas and sunflowers have come up and became visable. How do I know if they are normnal or doing well?

Below is a link to some picture I took out in my yard today. There are a few irrelvant ones, but not too many (the ones of the yard will be a before and after when we put down sod).

Garden Photos

If anyone wants, I would love some objective advice on my plants.

Veggies and flowers are a great relaxation activity for me, I just want to make sure they grow [Smile]

Marina-
by peppereater on April 21, 2006 06:21 AM
I didn't look at every pic, but most stuff looks great. I did see one pic of a pea that might have had leaf miners...hard to tell. You might do a forum search or Google image search for that and see if you think so.
Welcome to the forum!

-
Dave
Even my growlights are getting restless!
by Wrennie on April 21, 2006 07:26 PM
All your plants look good to me.
The only future problem I can see is at the fenceline. On the other side is lawn and it will creep back into your beds. You'll be weeding like crazy. I would put some sort of lawn edging to hold it back.
Take advantage of that frnce too. There are all kinds of climbers you can plant.

-
 -

-

- Summer Camp '07, July 14th weekend, won't you join us?  -
summer camp thread 1, 2, 3,4
by johnCT on April 21, 2006 08:39 PM