The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

What's up with these tomato plants??

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by heidi_ho80 on April 13, 2006 01:27 AM
I started these about a month ago. They were doing fine then they started turning yellow. Some of the yellow leaves fall off.
The pictures are what the leaves look like. The one picture is of one that just dropped dead for no reason (it did not turn yellow).
What should I do? Please Help, I am new to this and I can not find any info about any "tomato problems" except "Blight" and bugs.

Thank you in advance. Heidi

-  -  -
by johnCT on April 13, 2006 01:40 AM
Are they under lights? How much light are they getting?

John - Zone 6
by peppereater on April 13, 2006 02:06 AM
The soil in the bottom picture looks bone dry...plus the others look like they may be overgrown for the container size. Tell us all you can about them.

-
Dave
Even my growlights are getting restless!
by Deborah L. on April 13, 2006 02:10 AM
Hmmmmm...... a fungus? Nematodes? Tobacco smoke?

-
 -
by weezie13 on April 13, 2006 04:01 AM
Heidi,
What kind of soil are they in???

The yellowing is a sign of a deficiency of some kind.....
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yes, I concur the bottom one looks bone dry..
and having it in a peat pot doesn't help with moisture, when they're dry, and you water just a bit of water into the dirt, it *the peat pot* sucks the water out of the dirt into itself...

Take it out of that pot if you can...
Pull the bottom two leaves off, and replant it,
up to almost the whole set of leaves on the top...
and keep moist...

Please keep us [gabby] posted [critic] on how they're doing... [thumb] [flower]

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/