The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Black Bottom Tomatos

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by Gerry the one and only on March 01, 2006 02:52 AM
I'm a complete novice to growing... and desperately need help.

I have 3 beautiful tomato plants I started indoors in November (San Diego's always warm). No idea what variety, "Flower Pot Tomotos" from Walmart.

My problem is that for every 1 tomato I get ripened, I've lost 7 others because they start turning black from the bottom of the fruit up. The don't get mushy but stay firm and eventually start to cave in a bit on the bottoms.

I have no visable pests. Had Iris Aphids but got rid of them easily.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Would appreciate advice.
[dunno]

Gerry
by tkhooper on March 01, 2006 02:59 AM
yeppers it's a watering problem most of the time. They need regular watering but not to be kept moist. Getting the perfect amount is difficult for me too. My landlord does much better with tomatoes and he lets them dry out some between watering.

Good luck with your tomatoes.

-
 -
by weezie13 on March 01, 2006 03:05 AM
How's your watering practices???

Also, if you do a FORUM SEARCH and type in Blossom End Rot and click on the FRUITS AND VEGETABLE SECTION..
You'll come up with several posts on that subject..

Come back after reading, and let us know your watering practices,
How many times,
and at what time,
amounts you water,

The type of container it's in
and what kind of soil and fertilizers too!!!

That will help a great deal for us...

And Welcome to The Garden Helper's Forum by the way, we're glad you found us..
And don't forget to take a peak around.. there's lot's to do and keep you busy...

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/