The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Tomato blossoms drying and falling off

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: tomato blooms falling off| Next thread: Tomato bottom end rot »
Back to Thread index
by maiaia on September 07, 2004 12:23 AM
Howdy all,

this is my first time growing tomatoes (or anything, for that matter). I've got them in containers on the roof of my shed; I started them from seed ( a little late in the season) and have two heirloom varieties: green zebra and black krim. Plants are very healthy-looking, about 2' tall and blooming. Problem is, the blossoms are drying out and falling off, and I'm not getting any fruits. From a quick search online, I suspect that the flowers are not getting pollinated, hence the flowers are falling off. Should I help them along with Q-tips? Can anyone confirm this, or give me other input?

thanks all,

maiaia

ps - I'm harvesting my first cucumbers today. Loads of fun!!
by weezie13 on September 07, 2004 05:08 AM
Maiaia,
Can you tell us just a bit of..............
What kind of dirt you have in your containers, What your watering practices where/are,
and What kind of fertilzers you are using....

That helps us narrow things down a bit for you!!!

Sounds maybe somethings missing in your dirt>???

There's a couple other gardener's here that may be able to help you a bit more than me on this...

Papito??? Phil???

Weezie

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by maiaia on September 07, 2004 06:33 AM
Hi Weezie,

thanks for getting back to me.