The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Help! :(

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Help??| Next thread: HELP!!!! »
Back to Thread index
by daylily77 on August 02, 2006 05:30 PM
As everyone knows who has read my posts.. I am new to gardening. Well I think I may have made a big mistake today. I just found out about deadheading recently, so today I went out and cut some of my Daylily stalks down which didn't have buds anymore. Well on one of them I saw what appeared to be little mini seed pods, so I just cut the whole stalk since I didn't see any buds. BUT I don't really know what seed pods look like when they're that small! Do the buds look like they could possibly be small seed pods? I only saw one more bud on that Daylily plant, but it was very obvious to me that it was a bud. I just really hope that I didn't cut off any buds. [Frown]

I've only seen pictures of big seed pods, so I don't know what they look like when they're small. Does anyone have a picture of a small one? Or maybe a picture of a small daylily bud? Any info at all that could help me with this would be appreciated.
by patches1414 on August 02, 2006 10:05 PM
quote:
I went out and cut some of my Daylily stalks down which didn't have buds anymore. Well on one of them I saw what appeared to be little mini seed pods, so I just cut the whole stalk since I didn't see any buds.
Don't fret, Daylily. [Wink] I'm sure you only cut off the seed pods and they were probably small because they were just forming. Sorry, I don't have any pictures of the seed pods, but to me they look like tiny, little green peppers do when they're just starting grow. [Wink]

quote:
I only saw one more bud on that Daylily plant, but it was very obvious to me that it was a bud.