The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Blight Resistant Tomato Varieties..

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: bleeding hearts| Next thread: Blisters on tomatos?? »
Back to Thread index
by Jennnay on March 08, 2005 07:35 PM
Last Year (my first year gardening at our new home - new soil, brand new garden space) I grew early girl tomatoes. Virtually every plant I grew became infected with late blight. Yields were extremely poor. This is my first year gardening on the Pacific Coast ( slightly more humidity than the last place we lived ...Portland, OR)

-

Is there a variety I can plant this season that will be more blight resistant or tolerant? I will be buying transplants as I don't have the facilities to start plants here. I intend to space my plants farther apart this year (I thought they were spaced far enough apart last year -- guess I was wrong) They are planted in a spot that gets all day sun.

Any ideas would help..
Also I've read that a copper fungicide can be sprayed on the plants should blight infection appear.. (I've never used any chemicals in the past... just suffered in silence, but seeing as last years tomato endeavor was almost a total loss. I was wondering about fungicides and their safety and effectiveness..) Is copper safe to use on edibles? I don't want to apply something that will make the harvest inedible.

Any ideas or info would be greatly appreciated..

Thanks all,
Jenn

-

Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else.
by weezie13 on March 08, 2005 08:07 PM
Hello [wayey] Jennnay,
Welcome to The Garden Helper's Forum!!
We are very glad to have you here!!!

I know that there are varieties out there
they say are resistant to those soil born disease's but I don't believe them.... LOL!!