The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Tortilla Soup!

Willy's Place » Members Favorite Recipes
« Prev thread: Torby's indoor train garden| Next thread: total newbie »
Back to Thread index
by Winter Rosebudd on January 29, 2005 02:17 AM
Upon request! [Big Grin] This is a bit of work. We usually plan a party around it and its well worth the effort. Each person gets a bowl, fills it with chips and stock, then garnishes it with a plethora of condiments. It can be done vegetarian too! My recipe is a little rough, so you'll have to adjust seasonings.

Ingredients for the stock...

*2 chickens (whole or cut up, doesn't matter)
*big pot of water
*2 large onions chopped
*3 spigs fresh epazote, or 1 tblsp. dried (this is a mexican herb, I've done without and it came out fine)
*Knorr powdered chicken boullion to taste (you'll probably need at least 1/2 cup of powder in a big pot of water)

For the stock addition you'll need...

4 small cans of El Pato Chile de Freso (mexican tomato sauce) or 4 small cans of tomato sauce + 2 tsp. good hot chile powder
1 large onion chopped

Put chickens, along with water and other main stock ingredients in a large stock pot and simmer for several hours until meat is falling off the bone. Taste and make sure its got enough boullion, adjust if needed. Remove chicken and remove bones. Set chicken aside.

In a saucepan, combine tomato sauce with onion and simmer low until onions are cooked, about 20 minutes, stirring. Add this to main stock and stir well, simmer another 15 minutes. Add chicken. The stock is finished!

For the condiments, you'll need

48 corn tortillas sliced in strips
8 Pasilla or ancho chilis..fresh and sliced in rings
Vegetable oil for frying

A bowl of salsa fresca (tomatos, onions, cilantro)
A bowl of diced avocado chunks
A bowl of diced Queso Fresco (if you can't find this cheese, grated jack is fine)