The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Rose bush care

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: rose buds| Next thread: Rose bush dust etc. »
Back to Thread index
by Tonya on May 08, 2006 04:15 AM
I am fairly new to gardening and am not sure how to care for a miniature "Fiesty" rose bush I bought yesterday. I intend to plant it in my yard in full sun and follow the care instructions, but I have very sandy soil and am not sure if I need to mix in anything special with the soil when I plant or what I should do. I live in Coastal North Carolina(zone 8 I think??). [dunno] Any advice is appreciated!

-
 -
 - Bote and Babe's World
by tkhooper on May 08, 2006 05:09 AM
Well they like epsom salts that part I know. I'd send you some of my clay for some of your sand if mailing heavy stuff wasn't so expensive. Barring that I would say add a bunch of compost to the sandy soil you have in that area. Bone meal in the bottom of the hole you dig when you plant it is good too. Good luck with your rose. I love roses.

-
 -
by Tonya on May 08, 2006 07:11 AM
What do I do with the epsom salts? Sprinkle in the soil when planting? My mom had beautiful roses when I was growing up, but that is in Tn...I need to go visit and fill the trunk with her dirt! I could tolerate some clay...all this sand get's annoying! Thanks for the help!

-
 -
 - Bote and Babe's World
by tkhooper on May 08, 2006 08:48 AM
Here is a link to a great explanation on how to use epsom salt.
Epsom salt

I know what you mean by getting a little tired of soil that isn't in good shape. I'm slowly building good soil on top of my clay but this year something went very wrong with my bottom tier and nothing is really growing well there. But it will get better with time.