The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Please help! I have some Questions?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by Laurli on May 02, 2006 11:59 AM
Hello Everyone! I am new to gardening. I'm moving in my own place finally!!! I planted some Mixed Ranunculus in pots today to take with to the new place. I was figuring once they started growing I could transfer. I read that they should be planted in zones 8-10. I am not in these zones. I am I believe in zone 6-b. I live in Quakertown Pa. Between Philadelphia and Allentown. I don't want them to die. So if I'm wrong and they will be fine can someone please help. Thanks!
by weezie13 on May 02, 2006 02:20 PM
You can consider those a bulb, just like a gladioli or a dahlia ...

You can plant them, no problem...

Dig it up *the bulb* in the fall and store frost-free area, like your basement... for replanting in springtime again, or re-pot for indoor winter flowering.

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by Wrennie on May 03, 2006 01:59 AM
The zone 8-10 just means those zones are warm enough in the winter that the bulbs will come back next year without being dug up. I've seen ranunculus grown here in zone 5 in planters.

-
 -

-

- Summer Camp '07, July 14th weekend, won't you join us?  -
summer camp thread 1, 2, 3,4
by joclyn on May 03, 2006 08:21 AM
[wavey] heya, 'neighbor'!! welcome!!

they should do just fine...as weezie said, you will have to dig them up for the winter tho...
by alankhart on May 03, 2006 08:33 AM