The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

indoor crops?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
by apples on February 04, 2004 03:39 PM
Hello, I'm pretty new to gardening haven't done much outside mainly indoor plants and such which brings me to my question. I don't have the space outside for the time being and was wondering what my best and most plentifull options would be for an indoor garden. I have a room in the basement that is pretty well lit and if need be I can put in some artifical lighting. Just for fun I threw some seeds from a sweet pepper in a pot and they are doing quite well. I don't know how big they get though or if they will fruit even so thats a question. Another idea I had was to grow a kiwi female and train the male into a bonzai as this is a practice I am more familiar with. I'm thinking is would be a good idea in terms of space as long as it has enough flowers. I also have a calamondin orange tree which isn't a big food supply but thats ok! I'm not looking to have a full food source I just like the idea of receiving the gift of nurishment strait from a plant and watching the process. If though I can get BIGGER FOOD then yum!!! [grin]

-
The answers will come when needed. Otherwise, I'm guesing time will make me feel silly.
by weezie13 on February 04, 2004 03:52 PM
Hey Apples, [wayey]
Can we ask why the indoors is your only
avenue to gardening>??
Can outdoor containers work for you??

You're not locked in that basement are you??
Big Grin [grin] and a WINK~WINK!! [Wink] [Wink]
I'm being funny!

If you do plant indoors, someone like Bill, Will or Phil
(Hey, all you guys rhyme!! [clappy] )
Would have to tell you about light requirements...

But you should read up on self pollenating too!
As unless the windows are duct taped and kept shut, no bees or bugs coming are going to be coming in to cross pollenate for you!!!