The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

what kind of plant do i have?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: What kind of grass?| Next thread: what kind of plant is this? »
Back to Thread index
by clarkie14 on July 12, 2005 11:47 AM
hi... i am new to gardening and plants. i just received a plant as a gift and i don't know what it is or how to take care of it.
it's a potted plant with long green leaves with a tall red thingy (possibly a bloom). the red thingy is kinda spiky.
i have been known to kill plants where people think it's more humane to give my cut flowers as they are already dead [Frown]
i would really like to give this plant the proper love and care it needs so if you can help me with identifying this plant i would be most appreciative!
by clarkie14 on July 12, 2005 11:56 AM
it's commonly found at corner bodegas in new york city next to the peace lilies... i don't have a picture yet but hopefully soon if one is needed.
by RugbyHukr on July 12, 2005 12:45 PM
Is this it?

anthurium 'flamingo flower'

-
I love the sweet scents wafting in the breeze. I stop to admire the vibrant colors of all living things. And people think me odd. Then ODD I am!!!

http://community.webshots.com/user/flugnash
by Cricket on July 12, 2005 02:39 PM
A photo would be helpful to correctly identify your plant.

quote:
potted plant with long green leaves with a tall red thingy (possibly a bloom). the red thingy is kinda spiky
Could it be a Bromeliad?

Bromeliad Society International (Check out the photos in Genera Gallery link in the left frame)
by tkhooper on July 12, 2005 06:52 PM
I vote with cricket but I don't have a clue. I'm a new gardener and had a black thumb until the members got a hold of me. My plants are all doing much better. I'm strarting my own inside jungle and loving it.
by Nako on July 12, 2005 11:21 PM
could be a rubber tree too [Smile]