The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

flowering wondering jew?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Flowering stopped| Next thread: flowerless dalhia. »
Back to Thread index
by treelove on October 26, 2006 10:42 PM
Hello, Everybody!!!!

Couple of months ago I got 4 cuttings from a very healthy wondering jew at our local nursery. I used rooting hormone and put them in Schultz soil mix. They all rooted, and started growing pretty well. About a month ago I gave one of these plants to a friend. She did not change anything in its "diet".

Yesterday she told me that her plant had a few flowers!!! They are small, violet with something yellow in the center.

I;ve never heard about a flowering wondering jew. But then I am very new to this whole gardening thing. [dunno]

The three plants that I have left are growing at exactly the same speed, there are some new branches (though not new stems yet). But no flowers on mine.

Any word of explanation will be very appreciated.

happy gardening,
t.

I am so happy I found this forum!
by weezie13 on October 26, 2006 11:10 PM
Could be different heating temps' in the house..

Or direction of a window she had them in verse's the one you had it in? ie South, West, etc. facing window exposure?

Is either by heater or not?

Is water the same kind *both on town water vs spring?*

Or could be a shock to it's system, *being moved
can possible signal to a plant, it's environment is changing and it better put out a flower to make a seed to continue the species*

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by loz on October 26, 2006 11:59 PM