The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

What kind of soil is best?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
by Bounce847 on January 20, 2005 06:19 AM
When I buy what is indicated to be "good" potting soil for houseplants, I see slivers of wood chips all through it. It doesn't seem to be absorbent at all, and I wonder just how "good" this soil really is. When buying soil, which type is best? Anything special I should look for?
by MissJamie on January 20, 2005 06:29 AM
i'm not very good at this but the main thing i'd make sure of is that it drains good. because you don't want your plants sitting in water. sorry i couldn't help much! good luck!

-
 -
*~*Last night I played a blank tape at full blast. The mime next door went nuts.
*~* http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=2125497034
by Jiffymouse on January 21, 2005 02:47 AM
absorbancy is one of those things with soil that is funny. it is better to have to water more often than you think you should than to have wet, heavy, soggy soil. that just causes root rot.

the bits of sticks and wood (and maybe leaves) that you see in potting soil is from the compost that is added for nutrients and to keep it "light" so it doesn't get soggy heavy.
by Nako on January 21, 2005 05:19 PM
There's also ways you can make your own soil mixes. If you're willing to spend a lil money, then you can go out, grab some sphagnum moss, slow release fertalizer, bone meal, blood meal, pearlite, builder's sand, and stuff like that. It'll all provide your soil with nutrients, and if properly mixed, you'll get your own preference on how much water it'll hold at one time, how well it'll hold ur plants in the pot, how much your plants will get fed, etc.

Big world the soil place is [Smile]

~Phoebe

Nako's Webshots!
 -
 -
by Bounce847 on January 23, 2005 08:52 PM