The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Artificial Light - Inexpensive ways that work?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Artificial Light| Next thread: Artificial Lighting - LED Based »
Back to Thread index
by Blue265 on January 20, 2005 09:53 PM
Hello all,

I am new to maintaining and growing house plants and have a question about using aritifical light. I am a new condo owner and my main living room window faces South. I live in Canada and there isn't a whole lot of light coming through the windows in the winter time, and would like to know the best forms of light I can use are.

I was looking at buying a desk lamp for starters and using this to add some light to the plants I currently have. However, I've heard that fluorescent and hallogen lights work well. I am at a loss as to which one would be best to use.

Right now, I have a small lemon tree (I think this requires a lot of light), a Peace Lily, Dumb Cane, English Ivy, Spider Plant and a Dracenia plant. The ivy is slowly dying and my lemon tree already has a leaf or two that is slowly dying.

Would a Halogen light be decent to give them light for the winter, or would a fluorescent light be better?

Thanks for any help you may offer.
by Sorellina on January 20, 2005 10:08 PM
Ciao Blue,

Sorry I can't offer any advice about artificial light as I'm kind of in the same boat you are. This is my second winter in Toronto and I'm still adjusting. It's great to find another gardener in the GTA !!

I'd love to have even a tiny greenhouse, but I'd need to learn more about using it as I never had any use for one when I lived out West. Have you had much luck bringing herbs or any other plants inside before the frosts? I tried with some, but the whiteflies followed them in and by the time I nuked them with insecticidal soap, it was full-blown infestation and I said to heck with it.